Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Top Ten Books to Read if You Like J.K. Rowling



Two Days Until October!


Don't tell me you're not excited about it! October seems to be many a book-worm's most favorite month (judging by Instagram). And why not? It's a fantabulous month!!!

I'm very happy to say that my self-imposed Reading Challenge has been going well! In the past week I've managed to read:
23346358  65605 24396989
The Sleeper and the Spindle


Two more weeks before the crazy-busy-time begins. That's about 4 books a week to get caught up on my goal. It's a stretch, but I'm feelin' pretty powerful! So why not?!


 
Let the Bookish Fun Continue! With....

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. For future Top Ten Tuesday topics & info on how to participate, click here!

This week's top ten topic is: 
  Top Ten Books to Read if You Like J.K. Rowling
Click on Each Book Cover to go to its Goodreads Page


34284 47587 9475 
 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44652.Fablehaven?from_search=true&search_version=service 7249522 159069 
768878 2213661 47510
28187

"The Chronicles of the Chrestomanci" by Diana Wynne Jones - J.K. Rowling has cited Diana Wynne Jones as having been inspiration to her. This is a fantastic magical journey filled with adventure, gifted children, and odd and wonderful creatures. 

"The Dark Lord Of Derkholm" by Diana Wynne Jones - Same reasons cited above. 

"Midnight for Charlie Bone" by Jenny Nimmo - Often criticized for trying to mimic Harry Potter, this fantastic middlegrade series follows a gifted young man and his equally talented friends (each with a different ability) through the adventures and terrors of "Bloor Academy". 

"Fablehaven" by Brandon Mull - A brother and sister discover their family has a very interesting relationships with fairytales, a relationships that sends them on a wild adventure full of magic and danger.

"The Books of Elsewhere" by Jaqueline West - A young girl discovers some peculiar secrets in an old house her family has just purchased. Such secrets include talking cats and the ability to walk in and out of the house's peculiar paintings.

"A Wrinkle in Time" by Madeleine L'Engle - A teen girl and her genius little brother find themselves being whisked through time and dimension to save their family and possibly the world.

"Abarat" by Clive Barker - Candy Quackenbush is just your average teen girl, until a giant wave demolishes her hometown and sends her splashing into an alternate world, Abarat, where she meets a host of peculiar and wondrous characters who believe she is there to save them all.

"The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman - An infant barely escapes his would-be murderer and is taken in by a family of ghosts at a local graveyard. Raised by the ghosts and the night-keeper (who is very strange and serious indeed) the young boy, Odd, grows up between life and death with a killer seeking him all the while.

"The Tough Guide to Fantasyland" by Diana Wynne Jones - A Non-Fiction (kind of ) option for those obsessed with Fantasy. 

"The Lightening Thief" by Rick Riordan - Percy Jackson discovers he's the son of a Greek God which means he's in a whole lot of danger. Enter Camp Half-Blood, a training camp and safe haven for demi-gods like Percy...but there's something bad wrong happening in the God-world... and it's up to Percy and his newly found demi-god friends to set it right.



5 comments:

  1. I read the entire Fablehaven series years ago and loved it. I really think more people should read it. Great list!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm ashamed to say I actually haven't read any of these books, but I'm getting very interested in Neil Gaiman recently - I'll have to add The Graveyard Book AND The Sleeper and the Spindle to my TBR. Congratulations on reading so many books in the last week, it's insane!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Awesome list!

    I've read The Accident Season too and it was much better than I initially expected. :)

    Check out my TTT.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love this list! I adore A Wrinkle in Time and the Graveyard Book. I finally picked up The Lightning Thief and loved it! Nice list this week. Also, your blog is really beautiful!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I think Wrinkle in Time is a fantastic recommendation for HP fans! Will have to check out the rest of these :) My TTT

    ReplyDelete

POST DIVIDER