Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Review: "A Court of Thorns and Roses" by Sarah J. Maas

16096824


Title:  A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas


Genre: NA Fairytale Retelling


Publication: May 5, 2015


Pages: 416





Summary: 

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


Auggie's Review
    

Fantastic! Highly Recommend!

A strong 4.5. This book was almost perfect! The story was thrilling, the characters loveable and loathable in their own rights. Truly, I'm glad to FINALLY see a NA book that's not contemporary fiction. And this one was VERY WELL DONE. Just lacked something, only barely, in the writing that knocked it down .5 stars for me, some moments of descriptive repetition or overly used phrases, or moments of zero explanation when there should have been SOMETHING.

But, ignoring that small small "shortcmoing", this book was fabulous. I mean, wow.

I recognize the "Beauty and the Beast" fairytale in there, but I really think it's a much stronger "The Ballad of Tam Lin" retelling. The fairy man who is beloved (and basically owned) by a powerful fairy queen (who is not exactly pleasant) and the young woman who has fallen in love with Tam Lin must travel into the supernatural world and face the Queen and win her lovers freedom.  Yeah, I'd say this was Beauty and the Beast for the first bit and then "The Ballad of Tam Lin" for all the rest.

THANK YOU FOR WRITING AN NA BOOK THAT IS NOT CONTEMPORARY FICTION. I mean geez. You'd think there'd be more genre diversity, but nope. Apparently once we're out of the teen stages we are no longer charmed by such frivolous things as Fantasy, Sci-Fi, and Historical Fiction. No, not us. We've reached that age when the only thing that seems to matter is where we're going to get a job and who we'll have sexy times with next. No epic adventures for us, thank you very much. We're too busy trying to find an apartment.

But seriously. Just because we're not teens any more doesn't mean we don't long for crazy, fantastical, magical, AND sexy fiction. Writers are missing a huge opportunity here.  At least Ms. Maas is on board.

Back to the book. What can I say? It's was nearly perfect. Tam Lin is smouldering and I don't feel like I'm reading a book that's trying so hard NOT to be too sexy or too intense (on many levels). It is what it is and reads much more like a real fairytale to me than the fluffy stuff you get in other retellings. Not that I don't like fluff, I do, but not just fluff. One can not live on fluff alone.

This is one of those reads where I feel that I can't go into too much detail or I'll end up ruining something for someone. So just read it. No, really. I'm telling you... this one is going to be worth your time. 

Unless you don't like fairytale retellings. Then no. And also, you're weird.

Until Next Post,

Read On!

Auggie is the 28 year old whirlwind owner of Auggie-Talk. A Teen Librarian and bibliobibuli by nature as well as a (potentially obsessive) lover of Diana Wynne Jones and Neil Gaiman. One can normally find Auggie neck deep in reading, writing, or daydreaming (sometimes all three at once).  She's also been known to drink too much caffeine and eat too many lemon flavored sweets.




1 comment:

  1. This is definitely on my TBR list now! If you loved it...I know I will ;)

    ReplyDelete

POST DIVIDER