Thursday, July 3, 2014

Series Review by Tori: "The Fever Series" by Karen Marie Moning


Title: The Fever Series

(Darkfever, Bloodfever, Faefever, Dreamfever, Shadowfever: MacKayla Lane)

(Iced: Dani O’Malley)

Author: Karen Marie Moning

Genre: Urban Fantasy (although it can be found in the Fiction, Science-fiction,

Romance, and Fantasy section)

Publication: 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012.

Pages: 309, 303, 327, 386, 608, 495 (2,428 in total)



The Fever Series. Pause. Deep breath...and...slam face first into a world so magnetic  and darkly entrancing that my fingers wouldn’t let me put it down. I devoured all  six books in a week and a half. I was sleep deprived and ready to hop on the next flight out of the South and head to Dublin. Once I realized just how mind-blowing the series was, I started to kick myself for not getting to it sooner. But each installment remained on my TBR shelf until I found the newest book Iced in my local bookstore.

I felt the book nearly tingling in my bag on the way home and I knew it was time. I cracked the cover of Darkfever and there was simply no stopping me after that. Each book continues moments after the previous ended, so I figured a series review was far better suited to this particular story. The story initially belongs to MacKayla Lane, or Mac for short, as she treks to Ireland to find the monster that killed her sister. To be quite honest, the carefree and pink version of Mac in the beginning of the book instantly got on my nerves. She was everything I didn’t want to see in a character. She adored rainbows and pink...and I’m a connoisseur of black myself. She began as an “innocent” and only sorrow and danger would turn her into a woman with depths darker than even she could have ever imagined. Brace yourself, she does tend to ramble quite frequently. But she is a character on the precipice of...everything.

Enter Jericho Barrons. This man is not your everyday vanilla hero. He does whatever he wishes with whomever he wishes exactly when he wishes. He is a cold, calculated, and near-flawless killing machine. He has no gaps in his armor except that which Mac can penetrate and you can bet that that little fact drives him bloody crazy. He is not and will never be Prince Charming.

Of course, we mustn’t forget Dani O’Malley. She wouldn’t let you even if you tried. Dani, or the Mega as she calls herself, is 14-years-old and plays by her own set of rules as the main character of Iced. She’s mega-fast and has her own set of dark baggage. Initially, I was not a big fan of hers in the first few books. She was just immaturity in a leather coat with a sword. But, like everyone else, she has an achingly sad past and secrets better kept to herself. She’ll win you over. Just give it time.

Moning has thrown out the concept of characters that are simply labeled as hero or villain. She has set up a world where no one is innocent once they have stepped into the war zone that is Dublin when the walls between the realms come crashing down. Everyone must fight or die.

A word of caution to this tale, it does contain adult content so I would also suggest 17+ for all readers.

I give this series 5 quills and I will definitely be very impatiently waiting for the 7th  installment, Burned, to make its appearance in January 2015.

Will you catch the fever?

Happy Reading!


No comments:

Post a Comment