Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Wednesday Wishlist #10

Happy happy Wednesday darlings!

It's my last day to be 25 years old. Tomorrow I'll embark on the new and exciting journey of age 26.

I think I've decided to buy myself a celebratory balloon.

Anyway, that's neither here nor there. TODAY is WEDNESDAY WISHLIST! I also participate in WISHLIST WEDNESDAY by Pen to Paper. You'll find that as well, just read on!






* WEDNESDAY WISHLIST # 10 *

Every week Auggie-Talk features WEDNESDAY WISHLIST.  On Wednesday I list 5 books that are on my wish-list along with a little blurb about why I want to read/own them. 



*Juliet Immortal*
Title:  Juliet Immortal
Author: Stacey Jay
Genre: Classic Retell/ Superatural
Publication: August 9, 2011
Pages: 307

Synopsis:

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush will relish this intense paranormal love story featuring Romeo and Juliet, literary history's most tragic couple, who meet again, not as true lovers, but truly as enemies.
The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

"These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder,
Which as they kiss consume."


Why I Want to Read It: I picked this one up while re-alphabetizing the Romance section. My first reactions was "*sigh* more Romeo and Juliet junk".  After reading the small font under the title my second reaction was to turn quickly to the back, read the synopsis, then put it in my purchase pile. Gonna buy it gonna buy it!





*The Weird Sisters*

Title: The Weird Sisters
Author:  Eleanor Brown
Genre: Fiction
Publication:  January 20, 2011
Pages: 320

Synopsis:

A major new talent tackles the complicated terrain of sisters, the power of books, and the places we decide to call home.

There is no problem that a library card can't solve.

The Andreas family is one of readers. Their father, a renowned Shakespeare professor who speaks almost entirely in verse, has named his three daughters after famous Shakespearean women. When the sisters return to their childhood home, ostensibly to care for their ailing mother, but really to lick their wounds and bury their secrets, they are horrified to find the others there. See, we love each other. We just don't happen to like each other very much. But the sisters soon discover that everything they've been running from-one another, their small hometown, and themselves-might offer more than they ever expected.


Why I Want to Read It: I've wanted to pick this one up for a while now but just haven't gotten around to it. I enjoy family-dynamic fiction especially when it's focused on mother-daughter and sister relationships. This one in particular seems both entertaining and moving. Possible chick-movie? We'll see!



*The Paid Companion*

Title: The Paid Companion
Author: Amanda Quick
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publication: March 29, 2005
 Pages: 388

Synopsis:

"Once again, the incomparable Quick has whipped up a delectable Regency Romance"(Booklist)—about an ice-cold business agreement that turns into something far more heated.

The Earl of St. Merryn needs a woman. His intentions are purely practical-he simply wants someone sensible and suitably lovely to pose as his betrothed for a few weeks among polite society. He has his own agenda to pursue, and a false fiancée will keep the husband-hunters at bay while he goes about his business. The simplest solution is to hire a paid companion.

Finding the right candidate proves more of a challenge than he expected. But when he encounters Miss Elenora Lodge, the fire in her golden eyes sways him to make a generous offer.

Her sorry financial circumstances-and dreams of a life of independence-convince her to accept. But St. Merryn appears to be hiding a secret or two, and things seem oddly amiss in his gloomy London home. Elenora soon discovers that this lark will be a far more dangerous adventure than she'd been led to believe. And the Earl of St. Merryn will find that the meek and mild companion he'd initially envisioned has become a partner in his quest to catch a killer-and an outspoken belle of the ball who stirs a bothersome passion in his practical heart.


Why I Want to Read It: I stumbled onto Amanda Quick's romance novels at a used book store. After reading it I realized that I'd been missing out for YEARS on her writing. Historical romance? I had no idea you were so amazing! I've since been on the hunt for her more recent books, this being one of them.




*Well Witched*

Title:  Well Wtiched
Author: Frances Hardinge
Genre: Middlegrade Supernatural
Publication: May 27, 2008
Pages: 400

Synopsis:
Ryan and his friends don't think twice about stealing some money from a wishing well. After all, who's really going to miss a few tarnished coins?

The well witch does.

And she demands payback: Now Ryan, Josh, and Chelle must serve her . . . and the wishes that lie rotting at the bottom of her well. Each takes on powers they didn't ask for and don't want. Ryan grows strange bumps--are they "eyes"?--between his knuckles; Chelle starts speaking the secrets of strangers, no matter how awful and bloody; and Josh can suddenly--inexplicably--grant even the darkest of wishes, the kind of wishes that should "never" come true.

Darkly witty, wholly unexpected, and exquisitely sinister, Frances Hardinge's "Well Witched" is one well-cast tale that readers didn't know they were wishing for.

Why I Want to Read It: More middle-grade magical shenanigans! I'm attracted mostly by the unique storyline. Who would have thought that wishes go BAD at the bottom of a well from not being cast? This one seems like it will be a bit on the darker side and few things are more interesting than dark children's fiction.




*Warped*

Title: Warped
Author: Maurissa Guibord
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication: January 11, 2011
Pages:
243

Synopsis:

Tessa doesn't believe in magic. Or Fate. But there's something weird about the dusty unicorn tapestry she discovers in a box of old books. She finds the creature woven within it compelling and frightening. After the tapestry comes into her possession, Tessa experiences dreams of the past and scenes from a brutal hunt that she herself participated in. When she accidentally pulls a thread from the tapestry, Tessa releases a terrible centuries old secret. She also meets William de Chaucy, an irresistible 16th-century nobleman. His fate is as inextricably tied to the tapestry as Tessa's own. Together, they must correct the wrongs of the past. But then the Fates step in, making a tangled mess of Tessa's life. Now everyone she loves will be destroyed unless Tessa does their bidding and defeats a cruel and crafty ancient enemy.
Why I Want to Read It: This story seems so intense and capable of drawing the reader in to a different realm of mind.  The cover art hand-in-hand with the compelling synopsis makes for a combination that's got me aching to get my hands on this book.







* Wishlist Wednesday *
(Pen To Paper)  
I participate in this fantastic little meme hosted by Pen to Paper.

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it's entirely up to you), that we can't wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.
CURRENTLY my most wished for book on my wishlist is :




 *Scarlet*


Title: Scarlet
Author: Marissa Meyer
Genre: YA Fable-twist
Publication: February 5, 2013
Pages: 464

Synopsis:
Cinder returns in the second thrilling installment of the New York Times-bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother and the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she has no choice but to trust him, though he clearly has a few dark secrets of his own.

As Scarlet and Wolf work to unravel one mystery, they find another when they cross paths with Cinder. Together, they must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen who will do anything to make Prince Kai her husband, her king, her prisoner.
Why I want it: Okay. I know it hasn't released yet, but I can't help it. I WANT THIS BOOK! After reading "Cinder",  the first book in this series, I was in constant agony over whether there would be another book. When "Scarlet" was announced I let out a breath and haven't stopped anticipating its release! I haven't read a book that has gripped my attention and entertained me as much as "Cinder" in a long time, so I am very much anxious to read the next part of this great fable-twisting adventure! 



Alright, that's all for today love loves!

I'll see you guys tomorrow with a new RELEASE CRAZED!

Until Next Blog,

Read On!

~A.

7 comments:

  1. Nice choices! I've been wondering about reading Cinder -- sounds like you'd definitely say to go for it! I loved The Weird Sisters, hope you get a chance to read it soon. Happy 26th! May your coming year be full of happiness, health, and lots of good books!

    Lisa
    My WW

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm dying to read Scarlet :) I loved Cinder! And I've heard mixed things about Juliet Immortal, but I also want to check that one out too :) Great choices.

    Janina
    My WW!

    ReplyDelete
  3. All of these books sounds amazing, but I really like the sounds of Juliet Immortal! It sounds amazing!
    and Happy 26th Birthday :)
    Thanks for checking out My WW :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I absolutely loved Cinder and can't wait to read Scarlet!
    Warped is one that I have on my shelf but haven't read yet (it sounds so good though), and Juliet Immortal is definitely different from other Romeo and Juliet stories!
    Happy birthday for tomorrow :D
    My Wishlist Wednesday

    ReplyDelete
  5. These all look great! I put Scarlet on mine 2 weeks ago, hope we get it soon! :)


    My WW.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've been wanting to read Scarlet too, its definitely got a catching synopsis and cover.

    Here is my Wishlist Wednesday post.
    Lauren @ NP

    ReplyDelete
  7. Happy Birthday tomorrow! I've been curious about Juliet Immortal too. And I'm really looking forward to Scarlet.

    new follower. Here's my WW:
    http://booksojourner.blogspot.com/2012/11/wishlist-wednesday-1-endlessly.html

    ReplyDelete

POST DIVIDER