Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Wednesday Wishlist (FINALLY) and Some Badlike News

UPDATE:

I have done something extremely careless, readers, and I owe an apology to Pen to Paper. I link up every week to the "Wishlist Wednesday" that this blog features. Up until recently I have posted all the necessary things to adhere to the rules of the meme. However, lately my brain has been out on a little vacation and I haven't been posting the proper information required to participate in the meme.

I absolutely apologize for this and if the owner will allow me participate then I will not forget to do this again.

I can promise that I was not trying to step on anyone's toes and didn't even think about what it looked like when I linked up at a meme that directed others to my own meme without mentioning the other. Now that I think back on it, it's so obvious that I feel quite like a fool and I can not apologize enough.

~Auggie



Bad news my bumble bees!

The internet people came out today and told us that they couldn't provide us with service because of....pine trees. Yes, that's right. Pine trees. So, we had to go with our absolute last option (expensive, but at least we'll have internet that works by dog!) and we now will be without internet until the 5th of September.

I HATE HATE HATE that!

I'm accessing internet from work now and plan on coming up here FREQUENTLY between now and the 5th *sigh* so I can start catching up. Some contests have ended and I need to announce winners for those! Yip yip!





Anyway. Let's get things started here with a WEDNESDAY WISHLIST (finally!)

Welcome to another WEDNESDAY WISHLIST.



* WEDNESDAY WISHLIST # 9 *

Every week Auggie-Talk features WEDNESDAY WISHLIST.  On Wednesday I list 5 books that are on my wish-list along with a little blurb about why I want to read/own them. 

What are you wishing for? Link up at the bottom of this post. At the end of the month there will be a GIVEAWAY for the most wished for book.  






*The Empty Glass*

Title:  The Empty Glass
Author: J.T. Baker
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Publication: July 19, 2012
Pages: 336

Synopsis:

In the early-morning hours of August 5, 1962, Los Angeles County deputy coroner Ben Fitzgerald arrives at the home of the world's most famous movie star, now lying dead in her bedroom, naked and still clutching a telephone.  There he discovers The Book of Secrets - Marilyn Monroe's diary - revealing a doomed love affair with a man she refers to only as "The General."  In the following days, Ben unravels a wide-ranging cover-up and some heartbreaking truths about the fragile, luminous woman behind the celebrity.  Soon the sinister and surreal accounts in The Book of Secrets bleed into Ben's own life, and he finds himself, like Monroe, trapped in a deepening paranoid conspiracy.  The Empty Glass is an unforgettable combination of the riveting facts and legendary theories that have dogged Monroe, the Kennedy's, the Mafia, and even the CIA for decades.  It is an exciting debut from a remarkable new thriller writer.

Why I Want to Read It: I'm somewhat interested in Monroe. I've never been a huge fan, but I think that she was a tragic woman who got in too deep and was unable to sustain. She's becoming more and more popular again lately and this book in particular appeals to me. It may not be a non-fiction work but at least you'll be seeing a side that wasn't all starlight and evening cocktails.



*The Bad Beginning*

Title: The Bad Beginning 
Author: Lemony Snicket
Genre: Midlegrade Fantasy
Publication: September 30, 1999
Pages: 176

Synopsis:

Dear Reader,

I'm sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.

In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.

It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting this book down at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing.

With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket


Why I Want to Read It: I've wanted to begin Lemony Snicket's series for a while now but I just haven't picked up the first book. I keep crossing it at work and my fingers are itching to get a hold of it and start!



*Happy Hour at Casa Dracula*

Title: Happy Hour at Casa Dracula
Author: Marta Acosta
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publication: July 4, 2006
Pages: 320

Synopsis:

Latina Ivy League grad Milagro de Los Santos can't find her place in the world or a man to go with it. Then one night, at a book party for her pretentious ex-boyfriend, she meets an oddly attractive man. After she is bitten while kissing him, she falls ill and is squirreled away to his family's estate to recover. Vampires don't exist in this day and age -- or do they? As Milagro falls for a fabulously inappropriate man, she finds herself caught between a family who has accepted her as one of their own and a shady organization that refuses to let the undead live and love in peace.

Why I Want to Read It: I'm just in the middle of Acosta's book "Dark Companion" which I expected to dislike. However, I LOVE the book! So, I thought I would look into her other works. I'm very excited to soon (hopefully) be snatching up this first book in the series. 



*Let's Pretend this Never Happened*

Title:  Let's Pretend this Never Happened
Author: Tessa Gratton
Genre: YA Paranormal
Publication: April 17, 2012
Pages: 318

Synopsis:

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

Why I Want to Read It: When I laugh from just reading the synopsis then I know I need to pick up that book.



*Thresholds*

Title: Thresholds
Author: Nina Kiriki Hoffman
Genre: Middlegrade Fantasy
Publication: August 5, 2010
Pages: 243

Synopsis:

Maya's family has just moved from Idaho to Spores Ferry, Oregon. She?s nervous about starting middle school and making new friends, but soon that?s the last thing on her mind. First, a fairy flies into her room. Then it turns out that the kids in the apartment building next door do magic, and their basement is full of portals to other worlds. She?s bursting with new experiences and delight . . . and secrets, because she can?t breathe a word to her family, not even when she winds up taking care of an alien! Imagine the family in Ingrid Law?s Savvy seen through the eyes of a young Ray Bradbury. Cross the Threshold!
Why I Want to Read It: You know me! Always looking for another great middlegrade fantasy book. This one is a series so that's a plus! Not to mention the cover art is spectacular (though a little fuzzy... sorry about that). 





* Wishlist Wednesday *
(Pen To Paper)  
I participate in this fantastic little meme hosted by Pen to Paper.

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it's entirely up to you), that we can't wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

CURRENTLY my most wished for book on my wishlist is :




 *I, Coriander*


Title: I, Coriander
Author: Sally Gardner
Genre: Middlegrade Fantasy
Publication: March 1, 2007
Pages: 275

Synopsis:
In this exceptionally well-crafted tale, Coriander tells the story of her childhood in seventeenth-century London, and of her discovery that she has inherited magical powers from her mother, who was a fairy princess. But her mother's sudden death brings on a dark time for Coriander, and after mourning her beloved mother and dealing with the disappearance of her father and the wrath of her evil stepmother, Coriander finds herself locked in a chest with no hope of escape and no will to survive. But when a bright light beckons to her, it is then that Coriander's journey truly begins. Beautifully written, this magical and luminous story is destined to become a children's classic.
Why I want it: I'm still after this one guys! I haven't been able to find it at my local bookstore so I'm going to have to order it in, but I think this is the next one on the list!



Alright, that's all for today love loves! I can't wait to start updating more because I have TONS to tell you and catch up with.

Everyone just sit tight. We're gettin' this show on the road again!

Until Next Blog,

Read On!

~A.





No comments:

Post a Comment

POST DIVIDER