Thursday, July 26, 2012

"Haunting Violet" Review and Release Crazed #3

Giveaway Reminders: 200 Follower Giveaway, Manga Series Giveaway, and "Pledged" Giveaway

Happy Thursday sunshines!

It's that time of week again and I'm Release Crazed!!!

How about you?

But first, a review....


* REVIEW *
*"Haunting Violet"*
*Alyxandra Harvey *
 *******************
Title:  Haunting Violet
Author:  Alyxandra Harvey
Genre: Paranormal
Publication:  June 21, 2011
Pages:  342

Synopsis:
Violet Willoughby doesn't believe in ghosts. But they believe in her. After spending years participating in her mother's elaborate ruse as a fraudulent medium, Violet is about as skeptical as they come in all matters supernatural. Now that she is being visited by a very persistent ghost, one who suffered a violent death, Violet can no longer ignore her unique ability. She must figure out what this ghost is trying to communicate, and quickly because the killer is still on the loose.


Afraid of ruining her chance to escape her mother's scheming through an advantageous marriage, Violet must keep her ability secret. The only person who can help her is Colin, a friend she's known since childhood, and whom she has grown to love. He understands the true Violet, but helping her on this path means they might never be together. Can Violet find a way to help this ghost without ruining her own chance at a future free of lies?

*************************
Auggie-Talk Quill Rating
*************************
******************
4/5
******************
Another very enjoyable read! I'm happy to have discovered Alyxandra Harvey, and though I'm not quite so sure about her others books and their subject matters I'm very impressed with her writing style and thoroughly enjoyed "Haunting Violet".

Violet is a young woman, the daughter of a crafty, money grubbing mother who is trying to weasel her way into the upper crusts of society by using the old fashioned method of lying through her teeth. She tricks, dupes, and fools grievers, adventure seekers, and spiritualists alike using Violet as an assistant to the madness.

With a medium charlatan for a mother Violet is the last person to believe in spirits, until she is confronted by a very real, very dead,  young girl named Rowena. How did she die? What is she trying to say. Why is this happening? All questions Violet asks herself while trying to maneuver the avalanche that is her mother's disintegrating reputation.

On top of it all she's faced with the very real dilemma of a lucrative marriage proposal from a depthless and wealthy young man vs.  a rough and tumble Irish boy who used to put frogs in her bed.  Colin has been acting less and less irritating of late. Charming even. Bother.

I really liked Violet as a character. She was a girl trapped in her circumstances, but not unwilling to work her way out of them if necessary. She was not overly meepy or standoffish. In general, she was extremely likable and someone who I find I might be very pleased to meet on any given day. Hopeful, strong, and decidedly peculiar she is constantly at war with what is right, what is expected, and what she feels.  However, her character is not so strong of one that it takes away from the story. Other characters are given their time to shine, like Elizabeth.

I adore the Elizabeth character (as she reminds me a little of myself), mostly for her extreme and cheerful loyalty to her best friend Violet who others cast odd looks after. She full of jovial, bubbly, sentiments of how the world should be. She is the perfect companion for Violet's character.

Tabitha is perfectly irritating, but not so much so that you can't stand the girl. The men and boys are equally interesting and boring, while the women are all clucking, strutting, messes of silk and lace.

A few things:

I wish Elizabeth's uncle would have explained himself more regarding his gift. I also wish it would have been explained why in the world Caroline wanted to sabotage a seance. Lastly I wish that there would have been a few more scenes of Violet helping or more deeply interacting with other ghosts other than Roweena and the little ghost dog (the little ghost dog is a majorly cute idea, btw.).

It's definitely a great read and I certainly do recommend it for all of you paranormal, historical, mystery fiction geeks out there.

So, Read Read Read!

Powell's Books: $9.99
Amazon: $9.99
Kindle: $7.99
Nook: $6.97
❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖

* Release Crazed #3*

Release Crazed is a weekly feature on Auggie-Talk where I list 5 upcoming books that I'm really looking forward to. What are you anxiously anticipating?

❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖



Title: Unspoken
Author: Sarah Rees Brennan

Genre: YA Paranormal Mystery
Release Date: September 2012

Pages: 370

Synopsis: Kami Glass loves someone she’s never met . . . a boy she’s talked to in her head ever since she was born. She wasn’t silent about her imaginary friend during her childhood, and is thus a bit of an outsider in her sleepy English town of Sorry-in-the-Vale. Still, Kami hasn’t suffered too much from not fitting in. She has a best friend, runs the school newspaper, and is only occasionally caught talking to herself. Her life is in order, just the way she likes it, despite the voice in her head.

But all that changes when the Lynburns return.

The Lynburn family has owned the spectacular and sinister manor that overlooks Sorry-in-the-Vale for centuries. The mysterious twin sisters who abandoned their ancestral home a generation ago are back, along with their teenage sons, Jared and Ash, one of whom is eerily familiar to Kami. Kami is not one to shy away from the unknown—in fact, she’s determined to find answers for all the questions Sorry-in-the-Vale is suddenly posing. Who is responsible for the bloody deeds in the depths of the woods? What is her own mother hiding? And now that her imaginary friend has become a real boy, does she still love him? Does she hate him? Can she trust him?



❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖


Title: Skylark
Author: Meagan Spooner

Genre: YA Dystopian
Release Date: August 1, 2012

Pages: 344

Synopsis: Sixteen year-old Lark Ainsley has never seen the sky.

Her world ends at the edge of the vast domed barrier of energy enclosing all that’s left of humanity. For two hundred years the city has sustained this barrier by harvesting its children's innate magical energy when they reach adolescence. When it’s Lark’s turn to be harvested, she finds herself trapped in a nightmarish web of experiments and learns she is something out of legend itself: a Renewable, able to regenerate her own power after it’s been stripped.


Forced to flee the only home she knows to avoid life as a human battery, Lark must fight her way through the terrible wilderness beyond the edge of the world. With the city’s clockwork creations close on her heels and a strange wild boy stalking her in the countryside, she must move quickly if she is to have any hope of survival. She’s heard the stories that somewhere to the west are others like her, hidden in secret – but can she stay alive long enough to find them?



❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖


Title: Eve and Adam
Author: Katherine Applegate

Genre: YA Fantasy
Release Date: October 2, 2012

Pages: 304

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Evening Spiker lives an affluent life in San Francisco with her mother, EmmaRose, a successful geneticist and owner of Spiker Biotech. Sure, Evening misses her father who died mysteriously, but she’s never really questioned it. Much like how she’s never stopped to think how off it is that she’s never been sick. That is, until she’s struck by a car and is exposed to extensive injuries. Injuries that seem to be healing faster than physically possible.

While recuperating in Spiker Biotech’s lush facilities, she meets Solo Plissken, a very attractive, if off-putting boy her age who spent his life at Spiker Biotech. Like Evening, he’s never questioned anything... until now. Solo drops hints to Evening that something isn’t right, and Emma-Rose may be behind it. Evening puts this out of her mind and begins her summer internship project: To simulate the creation of the perfect boy. With the help of Solo, Evening uncovers secrets so big they could change the world completely.




❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖


Title: Mystic City
Author: Theo Lawrence

Genre: YA Dystopian
Release Date: October 9, 2012

Pages: 352

Synopsis: For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided. A political rebellion ignited. A love that was meant to last forever.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.




❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖


Title: Touching the Surface
Author: Kimberly Sabatini

Genre: YA Paranormal
Release Date: October 30, 2012

Pages: 352

Synopsis: Experience the afterlife in this lyrical, paranormal debut novel that will send your heart soaring.When Elliot finds herself dead for the third time, she knows she must have messed up, big-time. She doesn't remember how she landed in the afterlife again, but she knows this is her last chance to get things right.

Elliot just wants to move on, but first she will be forced to face her past and delve into the painful memories she'd rather keep buried. Memories of people she's hurt, people she's betrayed...and people she's killed.

As she pieces together the secrets and mistakes of her past, Elliot must find a way to earn the forgiveness of the person she's hurt most, and reveal the truth about herself to the two boys she loves...even if it means losing them both forever.


❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖ ❖❀❖❈❖

Well, that's all for this week's RELEASE CRAZED my muffins!

I'll see you tomorrow for this July's last FEATURED FRIDAY.

Until Next Blog,

Read On!

~A.

No comments:

Post a Comment

POST DIVIDER